Presidents chosen for Ottawa Centre’s NDP organizations

New executives were elected this week for the provincial and federal arms of the New Democratic Party for Ottawa Centre.

Danielle Sampson was elected as the president for the provincial riding association, and Carli Staub was elected for the federal riding.

The elections were held in a joint annual general meeting by the two associations, which was attended by Ontario NDP leader Andrea Horwath and Ottawa Centre MP Paul Dewar.

Isaac Cockburn and Jordan Leichnitz were voted in as the provincial and federal associations' vice presidents, respectively.

The purpose of the riding associations are to nominate the candidates of the NDP in each provincial and federal election and to conduct campaigns to elect those candidates into office, as well as to promote the parties through political education and organization.