Capital Current Staff

Jim Watson was re-elected for a third consecutive term Monday night, holding off challenger Clive Doucet.

But there were some upsets in council races. In Capital Ward, incumbent David Chernushenko lost a close race to Shawn Menard. Crime was on the minds of some residents in that race. (See video of Menard speaking to supporters.)

In Gloucester-South Nepean, challenger Carol Anne Meehan beat incumbent Michael Qaqish. This was one of seven wards where women won seats on council. 

And in Stittsville, incumbent Shad Qadri lost to Glen Gower.

Here are some of the other notable results from the election.

(See below for preliminary results. Detailed results from the city can be found here. Winners are shown in bold. Candidates with asterisks are incumbents.)


Hamid Alakozai
Ahmed Bouragba
Bernard Couchman
Clive Doucet
Joey Drouin
Ryan Lythall
Craig MacAulay
Bruce McConville
Michael Pastien
Moises Schachtler
James T. Sheahan
Jim Watson*Re-elected

Ward 1: Orleans

Rick Bédard
Toby Bossert
Mireille Brownhill
Guy Desroches
Diego Elizondo
Dina Epale
Doug Feltmate
Jarrod Goldsmith
Miranda Gray
Geoffrey Nicholas Griplas
Catherine Kitts
Shannon Kramer
Matthew LuloffElected
Qamar Masood
Louise Soyez
Kevin Tetreault
Don Yetman

Ward 2: Innes

Laura DudasElected
Donna Leith-Gudbranson
Tammy Lynch
François Trépanier

Ward 3: Barrhaven

Franklin Epape
Jan Harder*Re-elected
Ahmad Malgarai
Atiq Qureshi
Hadi Wess

Ward 4: Kanata North

Philip Bloedow
David Gourlay
Matt Muirhead
Lorne Neufeldt
Jenna SuddsElected

Ward 5: West Carleton-March

Eli El-Chantiry*Re-elected
James Parsons
Judi Varga-Toth

Ward 6: Stittsville

Glen GowerElected
Shad Qadri*

Ward 7: Bay

Erica Dath
Don Dransfield
Theresa KavanaghElected
Marc Lugert
Trevor Robinson

Ward 8: College

Rick Chiarelli*Re-elected
Emilie Coyle
Ryan Kennery

Ward 9: Knoxdale-Merivale

Warren Arshinoff
James Dean
Keith Egli*Re-elected
Luigi Mangone
Peter Anthony Weber

Ward 10: Gloucester-Southgate

Diane Deans*Re-elected
Alek Golijanin
Perry Sabourin
Sam Soucy
Robert Swaita

Ward 11: Beacon Hill-Cyrville

Michael Schurter
Tim Tierney*Re-elected

Ward 12: Rideau-Vanier

Salar Changiz
Mathieu Fleury*Re-elected
Thierry Harris
Matt Lowe

Ward 13 – Rideau-Rockcliffe

Peter Heyck
Tobi Nussbaum*Re-elected

Ward 14: Somerset

Arthur David
Jerry Kovacs
Catherine McKenney*Re-elected
Merdod Zopyrus

Ward 15: Kitchissippi

Jeff Leiper*Re-elected
Daniel Stringer

Ward 16: River

Riley Brockington*Re-elected
Fabien Kalala Cimankinda
Kerri Keith
Hassib Reda

Ward 17: Capital

Jide Afolabi
Anthony Carricato
David Chernushenko*
Christine McAllister
Shawn MenardElected

Ward 18: Alta Vista

Jean Cloutier*Re-elected
Clinton Cowan
Kevin Kit
Raylene Lang-Dion
Mike McHarg
John Redins

Ward 19: Cumberland

Stephen Blais*Re-elected
Jensen Boire
Cameron Rose Jette

Ward 20: Osgoode

Auguste Banfalvi
George Darouze*Re-elected
Mark Scharfe
Kim Sheldrick
Jay Tysick

Ward 21: Rideau-Goulbourn

David Brown
Scott Moffatt*Re-elected

Ward 22: Gloucester-South Nepean

Zaff Ansari
Carol Anne MeehanElected
Irene Mei
Michael Qaqish*
Harpreet Singh

Ward 23: Kanata South

Steve Anderson
Mike Brown
Allan Hubley*Re-elected
Doug Large